Chess Tournament - Mount Seskin Community College

Go to content
Chess Tournament


Well done to the following students of Mount Seskin Community College who represented Jobstown in the recent Dublin Area 11-16 Finals and came THIRD!!

Aaron Keane, Conor O’Neill, Calvin Forrester, Sonia Panwar,
Dylan Byrne, Jamie Duke, Cian Cullen.

Congratulations to Dylan Byrne Carr (2nd Year) on winning 1st place at the recent Mount Seskin Community College Tournament also well done to Sonia Panwar (3rd Year) who was placed 3rd.

Twenty-eight students (15 from Mount Seskin) took part. The school based club is held every Friday during lunchtime break and the leagues are on at the moment. Cian Cullen and Sonia Panwar are leading the Premier League.

Emmett Bowers, Riziki Bakari, Amanda McArdle and Conor Sherlock are all in contention for honours in League 1 while in League 2 Nina Samuels has opened up a considerable lead on the others. The Mount Seskin Community College Leagues run from the beginning of the academic year up to the second Mid-term break in February.

St. Kevin's College Clogher Road is the venue for the 2014 JCSP Team Tournament on Thursday December 4th. Our School will be represented by Cian Cullen, 1st Year, Dylan Byrne, 2nd Year, Sonia Panwar, 3rd Year and Michael Eastwood, 5th Year.

Charlie Ferguson and Genevieve McKenna are the teaching staff that promote chess at the college and are supported by the JCSP Librarian.

Congratulations to Michael Eastwood Captain and his team of Sonia Panwar, Dylan Byrne Carr and Cian Cullen who achieved 3rd place in the 2014 JCSP Team Chess Tournament, held at St. Kevin's College, Clogher Road on Thursday, December 4th.
In addition, Sonia, Cian and Dylan took the bronze medals in their categories.
A great day was had by students, teachers and librarians from the nine Dublin schools

Back to content